CMS-Japanese Motorcycle Supply Parts

Nepros Mirror 5GQ Combination Spanner NMS2 Review


Before using this site please read the site disclaimer. Also please note that any links provided may be part of an affiliate programme which helps support the site.


Today I am reviewing the Nepros Mirror 5GQ Combination Wrench series NMS2 (eBay US, eBay AU, Rakuten, Amazon). They're Japanese-made by the premium arm of KTC, and this particliar line is considered their standard length.

Here is a review of the KTC Nepros Mirror 5GQ Combination Wrench or Spanner series NMS2

The entire Nepros standard-length metric combination wrench lineup at the time of writing covered 5.5mm, 6 to 24mm inclusive, 27mm, 30mm and 32mm. They do also do a short combination wrench range in the NMS2S (trailing S for short) but there are many fewer wrenches, covering 8/10/12/13/14/17mm only.

The long combination wrench range is much closer in spread to the standard, covering 8/10/12/13/14/16/17/19/21/22/24/27mm.

If you're not buying the wrenches as part of a set, they arrive in a hard plastic container like so:

Here is a review of the KTC Nepros Mirror 5GQ Combination Wrench or Spanner series NMS2

The particular wrench I am using as a photo subject today is the 10mm standard combination wrench, part number NMS2-10:

Here is a review of the KTC Nepros Mirror 5GQ Combination Wrench or Spanner series NMS2

The back:

Here is a review of the KTC Nepros Mirror 5GQ Combination Wrench or Spanner series NMS2

The wrenches are very, very nicely chromed:

Here is a review of the KTC Nepros Mirror 5GQ Combination Wrench or Spanner series NMS2

Probably some of the tools that are closest to a work of art that I have held. The ends are 12-point and have rounded corners so that the wrench doesn't push on the corners of the fastener:

Here is a review of the KTC Nepros Mirror 5GQ Combination Wrench or Spanner series NMS2

In the hand they're quite comfortable to use - a little shorter than the Kincrome standard length that I'm used to but there's not a lot in it.

Here is a review of the KTC Nepros Mirror 5GQ Combination Wrench or Spanner series NMS2

The ring end is set at a 15° angle:

Here is a review of the KTC Nepros Mirror 5GQ Combination Wrench or Spanner series NMS2

The open end on this 10mm wrench is 4.5mm thick:

Here is a review of the KTC Nepros Mirror 5GQ Combination Wrench or Spanner series NMS2

I have few of these wrenches to test currently but what I have on-hand so far feels good in the hand and has a high quality coating - the very pretty chrome stands up quite well to being accidentally dropped on rough concrete/into engine bays/the usual stuff wrenches get subjected to in the hands of clumsy operators. The tolerances on either end are right up there with the closest I have found on an open ended/12 pt wrench.

Here is a review of the KTC Nepros Mirror 5GQ Combination Wrench or Spanner series NMS2

They're not the cheapest combination wrenches around - even when bought as a set (8/10/12/13/14/17) you're looking at $136USD (eBay AU), but when comparing to other premium brands it's not bad value - as an approximate example the Snap-On OEXM707B set has one more wrench and a slightly different size setup but retails for twice the price (eBay AU).

If you're looking for a nice range of Japanese-made combination wrenches that work hard and look good the Nepros range is well worth a look. Check out the prices on eBay US, eBay AU, Rakuten, Amazon.



Search MotoFaction:
 



Follow us on Facebook!

Follow us on Instagram!


CMS-Japanese Motorcycle Supply Parts

Search MotoFaction:
 


In 2019 the server has had to double in capacity to support the growing site... please consider dropping the site a donation to help cover the costs! Check out our Patreon for support options, buy a shirt, buy our apps, use my NordVPN affiliate link to sign up to their service or donate via Paypal:

Paypal $5 link ->>
Paypal $10 link ->>